Social Bites: Wes Finley (CNN, Coca-Cola, Facebook)

What’s your name?

Wes Finley

What major social media account(s) do you (or did you) manage?

CNN, Coca-Cola, Facebook (now Meta)

What was the best thing about managing these accounts?

CNN was fun because social marketing was new and exciting in 2008. I was a webmaster at CNN.com and I handled live streaming video. So I took over tweeting for CNN. It was mostly just re-hashing breaking news stories. But then @AplusK decided to challenge CNN to be the first account to reach 1M Followers.

He won, of course, but we worked with his team to allow him to unfurl a big banner on top of the CNN headquarters in Atlanta as a “prank.” It was great publicity for both accounts.

banner reading @aplusk draped over the CNN sign

Sadly, as social marketing grew in prominence CNN leadership noticed that a webmaster was handling their messaging and decided to turn over the account to an editorial team.

I was fortunate enough to take a new position managing Coca-Cola.

What was the HARDEST thing about managing these accounts?

Facebook was difficult because you were always inundated by people asking for help with hacked accounts. You couldn’t carry on a conversation and the account looked bad for not helping. The social team just wasn’t equipped to resolve account issues.

How do you think up your posts?

CNN was all breaking news.

Most of the content posted on Coca-Cola was created by agencies. Every once in a while we would submit real time materials. For instance, at Coca-Cola when Prince George was born we shared a photo of the can with his name (since the names on cans “Share A Coke” was the current US campaign).

For Facebook we had a more traditional content calendar we managed with product features, comms, and case study materials.

Was there a long approval process for social content or were you trusted to pretty much do your own thing?