How Customer Interviews Benefit Your Marketing Strategy (Jelle Postma)

Jelle Postma

I’ve been working at my new company for 8 months already. It’s a dynamic job with many different tasks.

One of my favorite tasks is an extremely important one, for me and for the company:
talking with our customers.

About the task

The company I work for sells sun shading products, like awnings and verandas. When the weather is good, we go to our existing customers to take pictures of our products. We use these pictures for our social media, website, brochures, and blog posts.

We always do these photoshoots in pairs: one in-house photographer, one marketer. Last week, it was my turn to accompany the photographer. The task of the marketer is to support the photographer if needed. But most of the time, I end up just chatting for two hours with happy (and talkative!) customers.

Not only are these conversations fun, they’re valuable, too. I let the customer do the talking, ask questions, and use empathetic responses.

And the consumers? They tell us things about our products we didn’t even know about yet.

Dig for the positive

When you run a relatively new and small brand on social media, you may not hear a lot from your customers. Most customers will only speak up when they want to share their anger or concerns about your broken product or unsatisfactory service.

Customers who are satisfied with your brand often remain silent. Some don’t feel the need to leave a review, some don’t understand why a positive review benefits you as a brand, some are lurkers, and some simply don’t have time to leave a positive review.

Quite relatable, right? Imagine how much time it would have cost you if you had to write a review for every brand you liked. The least we can do is give companies a five-star rating.

But blank five-star ratings don’t tell us marketers what’s good about our products. That’s why we need to go the extra mile: we need to contact the consumer.