Got Your Degree? Now It’s Time To Learn (Jelle Postma)

Jelle Postma

When I graduated from college, I thought I was finally done learning. Gone were the days of reading dry academic literature, doing research and following lectures on Marketing and Consumer Behavior.

Turns out I was wrong: I wasn’t done learning after graduating from college. In fact, I started learning about marketing after I got my degree.

College teaches you critical thinking, but not the hard skills

University had taught me about customer psychology, media strategies, critical thinking, and doing research. And that’s great. But university didn’t teach me how to optimize web pages, or how to write short, clear and appealing social media copy.

When I landed an internship role, I was confident that I’d do a great job. But when I started my internship, I learnt the hard truth: My time-management skills were poor, the content I wrote was waaay too long and complex, and I had struggles with properly designing a social media graphic.

No matter what you’ve learned, you have to keep learning.

Years after following that first internship, I have massively improved my time-management, writing, and graphic design skills. But that didn’t suddenly happen. I had to put in the hard work and I needed to stay curious and keep learning. My internship taught me to communicate more clearly. During my first job, I taught myself the basics of copywriting. While being unemployed, I taught myself how to write better copy and how to optimize my website for search engines. And now I’ve landed my second full-time job, but I’m still looking for ways to improve my marketing knowledge and skills.