Build Your Banking Strategy (Heidi Jones)

Heidi Jones

This piece is part of our Small Business Basics content series. Today’s piece by Heidi Jones is about setting up a good business banking strategy.

After you read, share with us:
How do you manage your business finances?

As the Business Relationship Manager for Meritrust Credit Union, I have 8 years of banking industry experience. I am passionate about small businesses and ensuring you have the tools to take your business to the next level.

Keep your finances separate

One fundamental piece of advice I can offer is to make sure to keep personal and business finances separate.

When a business co-mingles personal and business funds, it can become very difficult to determine cash flow or actual income versus expenses. This can hinder the business when trying to apply for a loan and/or build business credit. Keeping business funds and personal funds separate can also help with your accounting or provide tax advantages.

Examples of business expenses include:

• Rent/building payment
  • Utilities
  • Payroll
  • Supplies
  • Insurance
  • Taxes
  • Overhead
  • Advertising
    …and so much more.

The most common mistake is when business owners withdraw from their business accounts to supplement their personal accounts. This does not provide an accurate financial picture for their business.

Learn what you need

When you take the leap and open up your own business, acquiring knowledge is a critical step on your path to success. My goal is to make it a little easier when it comes to the financial needs for the business.

An important first step is deciding what type of entity you should operate as. There are different types of entity structures to consider. Each entity structure offers different liability protections and benefits. It is important to speak with an attorney or accountant to uncover which structure best fits your business.

The top 3 common types of business entity structures are: